• Ava Marenjak
    Ava Marenjak
  • Louise Camalbeke; photo by Stephen A'Court.
    Louise Camalbeke; photo by Stephen A'Court.

 The organisers of the 2022 Prix de Lausanne received 376 video applications from young dancers from 39 different countries (298 girls and 78 boys) to enter the competition. A nine member jury came together in Lausanne to make their selection of eligible candidates, narrowing them down to 74 who will compete in the final round in Montreux in Switzerland. Along with seven other candidates already selected from Latin American video preselection and the Summer Intensive, altogether 81 dancers will take part in the prestigious event. They include ten Australian-trained dancers and one New Zealander.

They are:

Louise Camelbeke (New Zealand School of Dance)

Manon Baranger (Melbourne Academy of the Arts, Vic)

Lilysophia Dashwood (Jane Moore Academy, Vic)

Shimizu Hyo (Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim, Germany)

Phoebe Kilminster (Tanya Pearson Academy, NSW)

Ned Manning-Lourey (Tanya Pearson Academy, NSW)

Ava Marenjak (Classical Coaching Australia, Qld)

Amy Ronnfeldt (Australian Ballet School, Nat)

Amelia Soh (Sydney Ballet School/Mosman Dance Academy, NSW)

Emily Sprout (Prima Youth Classical Academy, Qld)

Maia Weisinger Braun (Melbourne Academy of the Arts).

The Prix de Lausanne was established in 1973 and is one of the most prestigious student competitions in the world. The organisers are hopeful that the competition will go ahead in 2022, thanks to the implementation of the Swiss Government Covid Certificate, but they say it is still “too early to tell”.

comments powered by Disqus