Telstra Young Ballet Dancer of the Year nominees announced

Comments Comments


(From left:) Serena Graham, Cameron Holmes, Jasmin Durham, Nathan Brook, Imogen Chapman and Corey Herbert.

 Six of the Australian Ballet's talented dancers have been nominated for this year's Telstra Ballet Dancer Awards: soloists Nathan Brook and Imogen Chapman; coryphées Jasmin Durham and Corey Herbert; and corps de ballet dancers Serena Graham and Cameron Holmes were selected by the company's artistic team, dancers and past winners. A nomination is a huge honour for these dancers as it recognises their hard work and potential as determined by their peers. 

The Telstra Ballet Dancer Awards incorporates two separate awards: The Telstra Rising Star Award and the Telstra People's Choice Award. This year Telstra has increased the total prize money from its previous amount of $25,000 to $40,000, comprising a $25,000 prize for the Rising Star winner, and $15,000 for the People’s Choice, which will be chosen by a public on-line vote.

The winners will be announced at Sydney Opera House on  April 6, on the opening night of "New York Dialects", the  Australian Ballet’s much-anticipated first Sydney season in over a year and first season commissioned by the company’s new Artistic Director, David Hallberg.

The partnership between Telstra and The Australian Ballet has helped to celebrate ballet talent for nearly two decades. Now in its 18th year, TBDA is one of the longest running arts awards in the country. 

To help audiences make a choice, the dancers are featured in a series of videos. Visit or via 0484 BALLET. Voting closes 21 March, 2021. 

 Get the latest dance news, tips and reviews delivered direct to your door for only $6 per issue. That's a 30% saving on the cover price + receive the digital issue for FREE!

Subscribe now with auto-renewal:



comments powered by Disqus