Sydney Eisteddfod has announced the jury panel for the 2020 Ballet Scholarship.

Christian Tâtchev, Lisa Pavane, David McAllister AM and Li Cunxin will be adjudicators for the 2020 Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship.

Christian Tâtchev has had an extensive and impressive dance career. He completed his training at the National School of Choreography in Sofia, Bulgaria. He has worked with Sofia National Opera and Ballet, Bulgarian contemporary dance company Arabesque, South African ballet companies PACT Ballet, Cape Town City Ballet and South African Ballet Theatre Company and Queensland Ballet. After retiring from stage in 2011, Christian has progressed to the role of Academy director with the Queensland Ballet.

Lisa Pavane, once a student of Tessa Maunder, joined The Australian Ballet School in 1978 and then The Australian Ballet in 1981. She swiftly rose to soloist in 1983 and principal artist a couple years later. In 1994 Lisa joined English National Ballet as senior principal. Lisa has appeared internationally as a guest artist, including with the Boston, Kirov and Birmingham Royal ballet companies. Since 2015, Lisa has been the director of The Australian Ballet School. 

Joining Christian  Tâtchev and Lisa Pavane as guest adjudicators for the finals are David McAllister AM, Artistic Director, of The Australian Ballet and Li Cunxin, Artistic Director of The Queensland Ballet.

Entries for the 2020 Sydney Eisteddfod Ballet Scholarship close March 23. To enter any of the dance categories head to the Sydney Eisteddfod website.


comments powered by Disqus