Not long till the Australian Dance Awards!

Comments Comments
Australian Dance Award

The 21st Australian Dance Awards are being held this year at the Brisbane Powerhouse on September 8 at 4pm.

"Ausdance National is honoured to present the 21st Australian Dance Awards in partnership with industry sponsors," says Kerry Comerford, Executive Director of Ausdance National. "The Awards ceremony is the time we acknowledge and celebrate the dance profession’s depth and diversity,both on and off the stage."

The winners of each category will be revealed in an afternoon of performances showcasing some of Australia’s best dance of the past year. (Stay tuned to find out who will be the guest artists!).

The organisers of the awards receive between 450 and 700 nominations each year. A thorough voting system isin place, with two, sometimes three rounds of voting, by a panel of experts including educators, independent artists, dance company directors, and writers.

To buy tickets, go here

2018 Australian Dance Awards shortlist

Services to Dance
Philippe Charluet
Marilyn Miller
Philip Piggin
Hilary Trotter

Services to Dance Education
Paige Gordon
Raewyn Hill
Sinsa Mansell
Katrina Rank

Outstanding Achievement in Community Dance
Annette Carmichael for The Beauty Index
Tracks Dance for Man Made
QPAC, The Royal Ballet and Community Groups for We All Dance
Sprung!! Integrated Dance Group for Share House

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Dance
Austinmer Dance Theatre for UNREAL
Co3 for Project Next
QL2 Dance for This Poisoned Sea
Moorambilla Voices for Gundabooka

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography
Lucy Guerin and Gideon Obarzanek for Attractor (Dancenorth and Lucy Guerin Inc)
Raewyn Hill for The Zone (Co3)
Stephanie Lake for Pile of Bones (Stephanie Lake Company)
Stephen Page for Bennelong (2017) (Bangarra Dance Theatre)

Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance
Martin del Amo for CHAMPIONS
Australian Dance Artists for Restraint(s)
Michelle Heaven for In Plan
Nick Power (choreography), Jack Prest (sound design) for Between Tiny Cities

Outstanding Performance by a Company
Co3 for The Zone
Dancenorth Attractor
STRUT Dance for William Forsythe's One Flat Thing, Reproduced
Queensland Ballet for Raw (triple bill): No Man’s Land, Glass Concerto and Ghost Dances

Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer
Jana Castillo for construct (Australian Dance Theatre)
Amber Haines for Spectra (Dancenorth)
Ako Kondo for Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (The Australian Ballet)
Charmene Yap for Ocho (Sydney Dance Company)

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer
Richard Causer for Behind Closed Doors (Expressions Dance Company)
Nelson Earl for Ocho (Sydney Dance Company)
Beau Dean Riley Smith for Bennelong (2017) (Bangarra Dance Theatre)
Kimball Wong for construct (Australian Dance Theatre)

Outstanding Achievement in Commercial Dance, Musicals or Physical Theatre
Gravity & Other Myths for BACKBONE
Michael Ralph for SELF
Sydney Theatre Company for Muriel’s Wedding (Andrew Hallsworth, choreographer)
Nicola Gunn and Jo Lloyd for Piece for Person and Ghetto Blaster

Outstanding Achievement in Dance on Film or New Media
Richard James Allen for Enchant
Sophia Bender for Behind Barres
Sue Healey for Eileen
Catherine Moore & Jade Lowry for Unstilled


comments powered by Disqus