Calling choreographers!

Entries are now open for the 2018 Keir Choreographic Award.

Launched in 2014 as Australia’s first major choreographic award, the Keir Choreographic Award looks to identify and illuminate experimental choreographic practices occurring in the Australian context today.

Eight finalists will be selected to present their work at Melbourne’s Dancehouse from 6-10 March 2018, with four chosen by a jury to go on to a season at Carriageworks in Sydney from 15-17 March to compete for the award. Prizes include the $30 000 award, chosen by the jury, and the $10 000 Audience Choice Award. Previous winners have been Atlanta Eke (2014) and Ghenoa Gela (2016).

The 2018 jury includes

  • Anna Cy Chan, head of dance, Performing Arts of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority, Hong Kong.
  • Lucy Guerin, artistic director, Lucy Guerin Inc.
  • Ishmael Houston-Jones, US choreographer, author, performer, and curator.
  • Eszter Salamon, Hungarian choreographer, dancer and performer. Christophe Slagmuylder, artistic director of international arts festival Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Brussels.
  • Meg Stuart, Brussels-based American choreographer and dancer.

Applications close 11 August. To apply head to the Dancehouse website


comments powered by Disqus