The finals of the annual Ballet Teachers Workshop Scholarship were held on Sunday, August 28 at Darebin Arts Centre in Melbourne. A total of $7,675 was awarded in prizes.

More than 450 students auditioned for the scholarships, from which 124 finalists were chosen. The students were required to perform a solo for the finals.

Competitors in the two major prizes, the Paul Hammond Foundation award and the Mabel Pryde Memorial Scholarship, were required to perform a solo from a major ballet. Each has a first prize of $1000.

The adjudicators were Leanne Stojmenov, Kevin Jackson and Rachel Rawlins, all principal artists with the Australian Ballet. The winners were:

SECTION A: ages 7-9
1st: Mio Bayly (teacher: Anita Michael/Carole Oliver School of Ballet)
2nd: Jaimie Hearn (teacher: Emily Kheissy)
3rd: Renny Fang (Brian Nolan Academy of Dance)
4th: Bianca Juelg (Cheryl Edmonstone Juelg)

SECTION B: ages 10-11
1st: Victoria Norris (The Australian Conservatoire of Ballet)
2nd: Emily Bray (Jane Moore Academy of Ballet)
3rd: Freya Wilkinson (Australian Conservatoire of Ballet)
4th: Ada Sayasane (Anita Coutts School of Dance).

SECTION C: ages 12-13
1st: Madelyn Rothe (Anita Coutts School of Dance
2nd: Charles Herkes (Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School)
3rd: Elise Foster (Australian Conservatoire of Ballet
4th Alexandra Moore (Anita Michael/Carole Oliver)

SECTION D: ages 14-15
1st: Harry Davis (VCASS)
2nd: Georgia Swan (Anita Michael/Carole Oliver)
3rd: Amelia Drummond (Australian Conservatoire of Ballet)
4th: Brydee Lyttle (Anita Michael/Carole Oliver)

The Paul Hammond Foundation Award (males aged 16+)
1st: Calvin Richardson (VCASS)
2nd: Jesse Homes (VCASS)
3rd: Michael Ramsay (VCASS)

The Mabel Pryde Memorial Scholarship (females aged 16+)
1st: Jessie Hamilton (VCASS)
2nd: Alana Puddy (Australian Conservatoire of Ballet)
3rd: Teagan Donnelly (Australian Conservatoire of Ballet)

Calvin Richardson was also awarded the Frances Naylor Award ($1000), which is awarded to the best overall winner of the two major awards.

Pictured are (front row, from left): Teagan Donnelly, Jessie Hamilton Alana Puddy (back row from left) Michael Ramsay, Kevin Jackson, Rachel Rawlins, Frances Naylor, Calvin Richardson and Jesse Homes.

See au.

(See our forthcoming article about competing in eisteddfods in the Oct/Nov issue of ‘Dance Australia’ magazine.)

comments powered by Disqus