• Summer Duyvestyn, winner of the Shelley King Award for Excellence.
    Summer Duyvestyn, winner of the Shelley King Award for Excellence.
  • Stephanie McQuire: offered a scholarship.
    Stephanie McQuire: offered a scholarship.
  • 2019 YAGP winner Gabriel Figueredo.
    2019 YAGP winner Gabriel Figueredo.

 Grace Carroll

Musicality, phrasing and poise - these qualities set Australian Grace Carroll apart in the Final Round of the Youth America Grand Prix held at New York’s Lincoln Centre on Wednesday. On Friday, all was revealed at a mighty awards ceremony. 

Grace took out first position in the women's age 15-19 solo category with a gloriously controlled variation from Paquita. She exuded maturity and artistry and managed to suspend every movement in a picture-perfect frame. Grace, 15, is currently a student at the Tanya Pearson Academy in Sydney under teachers Lucinda Dunn and Adam Blanch. She is also a significant scholarship recipient, being offered full year places to attend Princess Grace Academy of Classical Dance in Monaco, the San Francisco Ballet School and the Joffrey Academy of Dance. She has also been invited to a private audition for the Paris Opera Ballet School.

Twelve-year-old Summer Duyvestyn took out the Shelley King Award for Excellence. Placed in the top 12 in her age division, Summer is a student of Classical Coaching Australia in Brisbane. She danced a variation from Talisman with elegance and finesse as her finals solo.

Stephanie McQuire, 13, also from Tanya Pearson Academy, was offered a full year scholarship to the John Cranko School of the Stuttgart Ballet.

The Youth Grand Prix Award went to 14-year-old Darrion Sellman of the Los Angeles Ballet Academy taught by Kiwi Andrea Paris Gutierrez. His Black Swan variation showed wonderful elegance and self-assurance. 

Gabriel Figueredo (18) from the John Cranko School, Germany, took out the The Grand Prix Award. 

Congratulations to all finalists and winners. 

Final Round winners - full list:

Pre-Competitive Division Winners

Martha Savin (11), Dance Planet, Romania

Kseniya Kosava (11), Ballet school of Vezhnovets, Belarus

 Natasha Furman (10), Not Your Ordinary Dancers, NJ, USA 

Ensembles Winners

Unison Dance Academy, Israel Academia Annarella, Portugal Kurumi Dance Factory, Japan

Contemporary Pas de Deux Winners

Dmitri Kulev Classical Ballet Academy, CA, USA

 Odasz Dance Theatre, NY, USA

DNA - Dance N ́Arts School, Portugal 

Classical Pas De Deux Winners

Academia Annarella, Portugal & Master Ballet Academy, AZ, USA Korea National University Of Art, Korea

Bale do Teatro Escola Basileu Franca, Brazil 

Junior Age Division Winners Women

Rebecca Alexandria Hadibroto (12), Marlupi Dance Academy, Indonesia

 Ava Arbuckle (14), Elite Classical Coaching, TX, US

Madison Brown (13), Lents Dance Company, FL, US

Junior Age Division Winners Men

Misha Broderick (13), Master Ballet Academy, AZ, USA

Andrey Jesus (13), Bale Jovem De Sao Vicente, Brazil

 Seungmin Lee (14), Sunhwa Arts Middle School, South Korea


Youth Grand Prix Award

Darrion Sellman (14), Los Angeles Ballet Academy, CA, USA 

Senior Age Division Winners Women

Grace Carroll (15), Tanya Pearson Academy, Australia

Yazmin Verhage (16), Ballettschule Theater Basel, Switzerland

Arianna Crosato Neumann (16), Danzaira Escuela Professional De Ballet, Peru

Senior Age Division Winners Men

Junsu Lee (16), Korea National University Of Art, South Korea

Francisco Gomes (15), Academia Annarella, Portugal

Joaquin Gaubeca (16), Cary Ballet Conservatory, Argentina

Harold Mendez (17), The Sarasota Cuban Ballet School, Cuba

Grand Prix Award

Gabriel Figueredo (18), John Cranko School, Germany


 Photos: VAM Productions.



comments powered by Disqus